Insignia, Volume 1

Front Cover
Harper Collins, Jul 10, 2012 - Young Adult Fiction - 480 pages

"Insignia expertly combines humor with a disarming and highly realistic view of the future. The characters are real, funny, and memorable. You won't be able to put this book down."—Veronica Roth, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Divergent and Insurgent

The earth is in the middle of WWIII in Insignia, the first entry in S. J. Kincaid's fast-paced sci-fi adventure trilogy perfect for fans of Ender's Game.

The planet's natural resources are almost gone, and war is being fought to control the assets of the solar system. The enemy is winning. The salvation may be Tom Raines. Tom doesn't seem like a hero. He's a short fourteen-year-old with bad skin. But he has the virtual-reality gaming skills that make him a phenom behind the controls of the battle drones.

As a new member of the Intrasolar Forces, Tom's life completely changes. Suddenly, he's someone important. He has new opportunities, friends, and a shot at having a girlfriend. But there's a price to pay. . . .

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
11
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Jadedog13 - LibraryThing

I love this book. It was highly recommended to me by one of my fifth-grade students. In fact, she repeatedly told me that I "had" to read this book. So, of course, I read it. And I am so glad I did ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - lkmuir - LibraryThing

Tom, a fourteen-year-old genius at virtual reality games, is recruited by the United States Military to begin training at the Pentagon Spire as a Combatant in World War III, controlling the mechanized drones that do the actual fighting off-planet. Read full review

All 7 reviews »

Contents

Chapter
Chapter Four
Chapter Five
Chapter
Chapter Eight
Chapter Nine
Chapter
Chapter Eleven
Chapter Fifteen
Chapter Seventeen
Chapter Nineteen
Chapter TwentyTwo
Chapter TwentyFour
Chapter TwentySix
Chapter TwentyEight
Copyright

Chapter Thirteen

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2012)

S. J. Kincaid was born in Alabama, grew up in California, and attended high school in New Hampshire. She also interned for a politician in Washington, DC, and received degrees from universities in Illinois and Ohio, but it was while living beside a haunted graveyard in Edinburgh, Scotland, that she realized she wanted to be a writer. Several years, several manuscripts, and several jobs later, Ms. Kincaid now lives in California, and Catalyst is the conclusion to the Insignia trilogy.

Bibliographic information